Speakers Push Air


Album Of The Year #10
December 22, 2011, 10:43 am
Filed under: 2010 Top 25 | Tags: , ,

Los Campesinos! – Hello Sadness (Wichita Recordings)

mp3: Los Campesinos! – By Your Hand

So Gareth had his heart broken and they shed a couple of members (including the adorable Aleks) and they’ve come back stronger and more wonderful than ever (the reason this is lower in the chart than last year’s Los Campesinos! album is simply because of the strength of the competition). They’re never going to make Hold On Now Youngster again – with its sugar rushes and yelled backing vocals and bratty arrogant vulnerability and everything-all-at-once impatience – and nor should they, because they’re not those kids any more. I miss that version of them (I recently decided You! Me! Dancing is the finest single ever, and I wasn’t even drunk) but I love this version of the band a lot too. Less hectic, more measured, but with a definite musical improvement and some simply fucking wonderful choruses. Probably the only truly ‘indie’ band I still listen too (at my age! really!) and if I was 22 I’d probably scratch their name in my arm with a fountain pen. Instead, for now, I’ll try and stop myself singing along on the bus and implore you to check this out.
Buy It


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

