Speakers Push Air


Album Of The Year #17b
December 15, 2011, 9:36 pm
Filed under: 2010 Top 25 | Tags: , ,

Laura Veirs – Tumble Bee (Folk Songs For Children)
(Raven Marching Band)

mp3: Laura Veirs – Jump Down, Spin Around

OK, I fucked up. I didn’t hear this until a few days ago, but haven’t stopped playing it, so I had to squeeze it in somewhere. And now my Top 25 is a sort of Top 26. Sorry.

Anyway, what a bloody lovely album this is. The songs maybe kids’ folk songs – and kids will probably love them – but this is honestly an album for everyone. Laura Veirs seems incapable of making albums that are less than brilliant, and here she takes both songs I know (All The Pretty Horses, King Kong Kitchie Kitchie Ki Me O) and songs I don’t and makes them totally fucking magical. Trust me on this.
Buy it


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

