Speakers Push Air


Album Of The Year #20
December 12, 2011, 8:30 am
Filed under: 2011 Top 25 | Tags: , ,

Amanda Palmer – Goes Down Under (Liberation)

mp3: Amanda Palmer – Australia

In the past, I’ve had problems with Amanda Palmer, I’ll admit. I quite liked the Dresden Dolls, saw them do a fantastic show at the Astoria (RIP), but something about Amanda Fucking Palmer (her chosen ID)  irked. I could never pin it down, and I’m now man enough to admit it was ‘theatricality‘. I balk at showing off, I think, but AFP is theatre and cabaret down to her very corsets, and to fail to appreciate that is to miss a lot of the point of what she’s about. So I’ve grown up and moved on and now recognise her as a fabulous, positive, very very smart woman doing amazing stuff, seemingly constantly – and I’m not even drunk.

From a college musical based on In An Aeroplane Over The Sea, to guerilla gigs at various Occupy encampments, to ukelele evangelism (I’m saving up), to late night drunken webcam concerts, to a marriage with Neil Gaiman at least partly lived out through twitter because they’re so rarely in the same place, AFP never stops. And she makes some fucking excellent music. Amanda Palmer Goes Down Under was, as far as I can tell, a limited release for an Antipodean tour (they LOVE her down there) and is a kind of odds’n’ends stopgap before a new solo album proper. But as stopgaps go it’s ace – sweet covers like Makin’ Whoopie, Map Of Tasmania‘s electroclash tribute to pubes, a damning indictment of Vegemite. Songs about Australia and New Zealand and getting old. A feminist Sally Bowles, an anti-capitalist Lady Gaga, a force for good in a world of arseholes, frankly.
buy it


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

