Speakers Push Air


I Hurdy It Through The Grapevine
December 1, 2011, 4:32 pm
Filed under: Bands | Tags: , ,

On one of my rare forays into the folk scene, to see a comparatively early Unthanks gig above a pub in Islington, my friend Jess bagged an open slot. I knew she played various instruments – including the hurdy gurdy (I’m SO sorry about the post headline by the way) – and had worked on a few projects. But nothing had prepared me, or hardly anyone else present, for Jess’ voice. The place went quiet (in a good way).

 

And now, she’s produced a CD, of folk in the very broadest sense. And judging by the clips on her website, it’s absolutely wonderful. So, you know, buy it and stuff.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

