Speakers Push Air


Read: The Grapes Of Wrath.
October 20, 2011, 10:51 pm
Filed under: Bookshelf, Reading | Tags: , , ,

image

As I mentioned below, I first read this when I was a kid – loved it, understood the suffering, didn’t realise quite how explicitly political it was. This time it slayed me. Brilliant, awful, heartbreaking, righteous. Amid and after all the awfulness, Steinbeck still had so much hope and belief in the human spirit. Something I wish I shared…

With passages that cut to the black heart of the market like nothing else I’ve read.

John Steinbeck, The Grapes Of Wrath

This is the thing to bomb. This is the beginning – from “I” to “we”. ‘


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

