Speakers Push Air


Read: Generation Kill
October 12, 2011, 11:46 pm
Filed under: Bookshelf | Tags: ,

I’ve been logging what I read on the weread app on Facebook – i like to keep track – but it’s getting buggy and I worry I’ll lose it all. So I’m going to use the blog instead. I might comment or rate, I might not. So first up…

image

One of the “blokiest” things I’ve read since I was a kid and had a Sven Hassel phase (thanks, Dad), I was drawn to this by the excellent HBO series (yadda yadda “they made the Wire, you know” yadda yadda) and I’m glad I was. Sharp writing, very funny, very interesting, very depressing. Especially when you read the epilogue, not in the otherwise very faithful TV version, where you find out how many of the Marines featured ended up either back on another tour of Iraq or working for some private outfit like Blackwater. Either because of loyalty to their friends (rarely to their country) or because after driving a Humvee through a firefight, working the front desk at a 24hour gym just didn’t fit right.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

