Speakers Push Air


Farewell To Swanny
April 2, 2011, 4:06 pm
Filed under: Miscellaneous

I heard this afternoon about the sad passing of Steve Swann / Swanny, after a fight against cancer. Swanny was one of the finest bassists I ever heard on the UK roots / underground scene, working with Radical Dance Faction, Military Surplus, Dub The Earth and the mighty Revolutionary Dub Warriors amongst others. He was also, from my own experience and from the words of others, a truly lovely guy. It’s a fucking shame.

Back in the 90s I went down to the Mad Professor‘s studio where the Dub Warriors were recording an album for On-U Sound. I’d never met Swanny before, but he couldn’t have been more accomodating. Tea and biscuits and good chat all round, and then this softly spoken dread went into the vocal booth and laid down some fearsome vocal proclamations, so different from the guy I was chatting with moments before I wondered if there was someone else in there with him.

So, another one of the good guys gone. A real gent. Adios Swanny.

Steve Barker on Revolutionary Dub Warriors


1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

A man I have known and loved for most of my life, in it for the “long haul” and a spirit of vision and open heart.

Comment by DJ Dapper Dan




Leave a Reply

