Speakers Push Air


Bela Lugosi’s Dread
January 31, 2011, 5:43 pm
Filed under: Miscellaneous, Television

As I’ve doubtless mentioned before,  some years ago I realised that the old Bauhaus classic Bela Lugosi’s Dead was pretty much a dub track, and would lend itself really well to some kind of digidub reworking. On a couple of drunken nights, my vague ideas and Simon Warde’s musical nous, uncanny ability to turn my nonsense into concrete sounds and big pile of equipment turned into Bela Lugosi’s Dread. We were – and I think still are – pleased with what we ended up with, and the times I played it out it went down a storm. In fact other DJs – Brixton legend Offshore included – started dropping it too. Plans to get it pressed up fell apart, primarily because Simon “lost” the files somehow, so all I have left is a fairly lowres mp3.

I’m still stupidly proud of my one piece of music making, even if plans to go on and make She’s In Dancehall never transpired. And after much dicking about, I’ve also knocked up a companion video. It’s the first time I’ve even vaguely tried cutting to music – all the film stuff I’ve played around with before has been simply backdrop footage, so no timing was needed. It’s not great, it could be a lot better, but I’m still pleased.

 


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

