Speakers Push Air


ALL BACK TO MY PLACE #8: Astrid Lopez Peña
January 11, 2011, 6:23 pm
Filed under: All Back To My Place

Ah, the divine Ms Castanette. A Spanish ex-pat lighting up London since 2004, Astrid has rocked venues across the country both as the Latin element in the mighty Actionettes and as one half of fantastic DJ tag team Lang & Lopez (who also run  The Retro Clothes Line). She’s obsessed with shoes and – more importantly for our purposes – records, and here she is to tell us more.

Take it away, Astrid

Astrid Rocks The 100 Club

What music are you currently grooving to?

I’m not sure that “grooving” is actually the right term, but I have been listening to a lot of Asturian folk recently (La Bandina, Hevia, Xuacu Amieva…). That’s what the combination of a recent trip back home and having a fellow Celt for a boyfriend does for you. I’m also very much into big band stuff at the moment: Benny Goodman, Bob Crosby… Not sure where that leaves my cool credentials though.

What, if push comes to shove, is your all-time favourite album?

It would have to be a very big shove for me to pick just the one; also, as my musical tastes are so wide and depend on my mood so much, if you were to ask me the same next week I may come back with something entirely different. At the moment I’m plumping for Blur “Parklife” (although I haven’t listened to it in donkeys), because it brings back fond memories of being a 14-year-old misfit…

What was the first record you ever bought? And where did you buy it?

I’m going to be very conveniently literal in my interpretation of this question. The first record in vinyl format I purchased with my own money was, happily, the Quadrophenia soundtrack by The Who, at the Euroyeye festival 2004. That Jive Bunny LP was actually bought by my dad, and the Ace of Base was a CD. Cool credentials another couple of notches down, but I was 12 and it was Spain. Those were difficult times…

Which musician, other than yourself, have you ever wanted to be?

As I can’t play an instrument for toffee, let’s skip the “other than yourself” bit. At different stages of my live I’ve wanted to be Alma Maria out of Los 3 Sudamericanos (for the songs and the amazing outfits), Suzi Quatro (for the shouting and the leather catsuits) and Justine Frischmann (because she was bedding Damon Albarn at the time).

What do you sing in the shower?

Again it depends on what mood I’m in, but favourites of mine are “En el ultimo trago” by either Chavela Vargas (if I’ve downed a few tequilas beforehand) or Andres Calamaro and “Iberia Sumergida” by Heroes del Silencio. I can only hope this last one remains unfamiliar to most people reading this.
(not a CHANCE – ed.)

What is your favourite Saturday night record?

Something by Wanda Jackson, preferably “Funnel of Love” or “Fujiyama Mama”. Or Aphrodite’s Child album 666, if I’m in “that” kind of mood…

And your Sunday morning record?

I have this jazz / swing compilation I love listening to of a Sunday morning, called Leopard Lounge 2. Particularly Mel Torme “Right now” and “Dat Dere” and Marty Paich’s instrumental cover of “Summertime”.

Muchas gracias, señorita. Could I have a cookie please?

Oh, and have some Actionettes. Featuring Miss Castanette and Miss Marmosette, ie my partner 🙂



1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

who’s that scuffy camera weilding type keeps sticking his head in the way?

Comment by Earl




Leave a Reply

