Speakers Push Air


Request-A-Mix #2: Brass
December 28, 2010, 7:03 pm
Filed under: Request-A-Mix

To break up the chart rundown and maybe to briefly lift you from your armchair, have some brass. As requested by Matthew “Broken Yolk” McCarthy, no less.

Matt’s request may have arisen from my claim that I love brass sections and hate brass bands – you’d have to ask him. But I kinda stand by the point – with a few exceptions, the brass band in its northern English form is a dreary, dead sounding thing, whereas a brass section can lift me like almost nothing else.

So here’s some music full of brass, be it jazz, indie pop, roots rock reggae or blistering funk.

Request-A-Mix #2: Where There’s Muck (79.5mins, 145mbs)

1. Cliff Nobles & Co – The Horse
2. Extra Action Marching Band – Black Chicken
3. The Skatalites – Christine Keeler
4. The Go! Team – Junior Kickstart
5. Charles Mingus – Goodbye Porkpie Hat
6. Calexico – Minas De Cobre (For Better Metal)
7. Maceo & The Macks – Cross The Tracks
8. The Pogues – Fiesta
9. Beirut – Postcards From Italy
10. Love – Maybe The People Would Be The Times
11. Dexy’s Midnight Runners – The Teams That Meet In Caffs
12. James Brown – Tighten Up (Live)
13. Salah Ragab & The Cairo Jazz Band- Egypt Strut
14. Ennio Morricone – Deguello
15. Tommy McCook & Don Drummond Jr – Fisherman Special
16. Polar Bear – Beartown
17. The Dirty Dozen Brass Band – I’ll Fly Away
18. Teardrop Explodes – Reward
19. Waireeka Hill Sound – One People (Version)
20. Sun City Girls – Funeral Mariachi


5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

nice one!
And how do you do them so quickly? It takes me months to do a mix.

Comment by Dave

Ah, they’ll be on my mind for ages. Then when I sit down to make them it’s almost live – this one took about 90 minutes. But I worked out what tracks in my head over the last couple of weeks. I think it’s just how my brain works…

Comment by stagger lee

that’s how I do it too – but the gestation period is a bit longer and I tend to make mistakes and change my mind a bit …

Comment by Dave

Know what you mean about brass bands. One reason why I couldn’t love the These New Puritans album!

Comment by Hoofer

Thanks for having Extra Action on this list. You can buy our music here:

http://www.cdbaby.com/cd/extraactionmarchingband2

http://www.extra-action.com/shop.php

keep tuned if you like what we do. there should be some more new tunes coming out this year.

Comment by korntee




Leave a Reply

