Speakers Push Air


STAGGER CHART 2010.16: WARPAINT – THE FOOL
December 16, 2010, 1:12 pm
Filed under: 2010 Top 25

download Warpaint – Warpaint

(because I LOVE a band with a theme tune)

So far with my rundown, I’m showing myself up as a hipster wanker apparently. But don’t worry, the obscure bearded country types will be along shortly. Till then, another “flavour of 2010”, this flavour being a kind of Benylin / valium cocktail (more woozy music, after Zola Jesus and Salem – this was the wrong year to give up Oxycodone).

It’s hard (check the reviews) to talk about Warpaint without the tiresome backstory (which I shan’t rehearse here) or the references, which I will, a bit – The Cure, goth, The Cocteau Twins, post-punk, more Cure. There’s more than a little Throwing Muses in there too, and by extension The Breeders, there’s a bit of Polly Harvey and definitely a big influence owed to one particular track which occurs to me every time I listen to The Fool, which is a lot. Unfortunately, I can’t remember what the track is and only have a misremembered lyric to help me. But trust me, they sound a lot like.. erm.. that.

It’s a lovely, drowsy, sundappled sort of record with a little tinge of menace underneath, which is just peachy. Andy Weatherall has made the sound really immersive and warm (although he might also be to blame for some horrible ambient dub synth squiggles on Majesty) and I can’t wait for the summer so I can listen to this whilst drunk in a field.

It’s just really, really lovely.

buy it.

 


4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

hipster wanker

Comment by Earl

surely that should be “wanker hipster”?

Comment by Dave

you say tomato…

Comment by Earl

[…] back in 2010 when I posted the Warpaint album in my chart rundown I […]

Pingback by Found It! « Speakers Push Air




Leave a Reply

