Speakers Push Air


The Wright Stuff
April 25, 2010, 7:33 pm
Filed under: Festivals

OK. I knew TV lizard / journo Matthew Wright had a thing about Hawkwind. He’s been onstage with them, written about them etc. But I had him pegged as a student hippy of some sort.

Tonight he stood in for Stuart Maconie hosting 6Music’s mighty Freak Zone show (where Maconie plays library music, free jazz, prog, techno, folk and other such nonsense). He started with Captain Beefheart and 4 Sparklehorse songs in a row, which pleased me..

But then.. but then… Well, take a look:

Gong – I’ve Been Stoned Before / Master Builder
Hawkwind – Magnu / Damnation Alley
Here & Now – This Time
Cardiacs – Is This The Life?
The Ullulators – Don’t Thump The Hamster
Wasted Youth – I Wish I Was A Girl / Pinned & Grinning
Captain Beefheart – When Big Joan Sets Up
Frank Zappa – Help! I’m A Rock
Butthole Surfers – John E Smoke
Grateful Dead – Eyes Of The World.

He also mentioned Wango Riley’s Travelling Stage, a festival which I think must have been Treworgey Tree Fayre and at least two different early 80s visits to Stonehenge. This was no student hippy, my friends, this was a microdot-addled crusty.

Who’dda thunk it?


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

