Speakers Push Air


All Back To My Place #5: Paul “Bluestreak” White
April 17, 2010, 8:29 pm
Filed under: All Back To My Place

Blogger, gig-maniac, one half – the piratical half, I’d say – of the Beyond Fathomability DJ tag team, I give you Mr Paul White…

What music are you currently grooving to?

Los Campesinos – Romance Is Boring – perfect for grooving, frenetic, youthful passion, and some great lines.

What, if push comes to shove, is your all-time favourite album?

Probably Nirvana‘s In Utero.  Yeah, yeah – hush!  It’s the perfect combination of weary angst, anger, sarcasm and noise.

What was the first record you ever bought? And where did you buy it?

Adam & The Ants‘ Kings Of The Wild Frontier, on slightly warped vinyl, from an Oxfam shop in Ilford, when I was 9 or 10.  I’ve still got it, and can still remember being fascinated and slightly hynotised by Ants Invasion and Killer In The Home because I’d kind of expected it all to be “pop”.

Which musician, other than yourself, have you ever wanted to be?

I think the year I spent trying to channel the spirit of Richey James is a fair way down the list of things I boast about, but I was 15 and a mess.  I still kind of want to be Nick Cave though.  I doubt that will ever change.

What do you sing in the shower?

I don’t sing in the shower.  Unless I’m having a show tunes day.

What is your favourite Saturday night record?

. Saturday night will start with “Let The Good Times Roll” , take in “Jackie Wilson Said”, stop off at “Laika” and become a blur somewhere around “Midnight Request Line”.  Or I might go out, I dunno.

And your Sunday morning record?

Sunday was made for Leonard Cohen‘s “So Long Marianne”.  On vinyl for slightly hissy wimsy.

Paul forgot to send me links to his blog or the Beyond Fathomability website, so I’ll get those sharpish…

Thanks, Paul. I want to be Nick Cave too. And so does Will Self


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

