Speakers Push Air


All Back To My Place #3: Hue Jah Fink
April 12, 2010, 1:39 am
Filed under: All Back To My Place

as well as being a mate, Richie aka Hue Jah Fink is both a stunning DJ (in just about every beat-driven genre you can think of) and an increasingly accomplished producer / artist. If I were many years younger, I’d go as far as to suggest he was “the don”. But I’m not so I won’t.

What music are you currently grooving to?

I’d love to come up with something really trendy but the truth is I am an absolute freak for Tori Amos. I bought ‘Little Earthquakes’ pretty much the moment it hit the shelves back in ’92, and loved it. A recent concert at the Apollo really reinvigorated my interest, so I bought all the albums that I missed. With the exception of a few dance tracks and a bit of African music here and there, I’ve had Tori on rotation for the last few months. She’s just an amazing songwriter and performer.
It’s OK, I don’t have any credibility to lose.

What, if push comes to shove, is your all-time favourite album?

Haha, probably Tori Amos – Under The Pink, her second solo album. I lose favour with most music from time to time, but this CD never ever disappoints me. It’s a close call between this,
and her first one ‘Little Earthquakes’. In some ways I think Earthquakes is a stronger selection
of songs, but there’s something a little more confident about the production of ‘Pink’ that wears better over time. I know from interviews that Earthquakes was a real control battle with the
label and I think you can hear that in retrospect. If this is a desert island affair, can I not just put both CDs in one case? I don’t really like to choose between them.

What was the first record you ever bought? And where did you buy it?

Two answers for this. If you count sharing a 7″ with someone, then it was The Piranhas ‘Play Kwela’ – Tom Hark. Not too embarrassing at all. However, the first record I bought entirely with my own pocket money, was Art of Noise – Close to the Edit.
Art of Noise were a very important influence on me. I did not really know how much at the time, but tracks like that and Moments in Love laid the foundation for my love of sampling and electronic music production.

Which musician, other than yourself, have you ever wanted to be?

Slash. What a dude. I’d still consider swapping now…. although to be honest I think this is a hair thing rather than a musical one. I covet his hair.

What do you sing in the shower?

I never sing in the shower. Honest.

What is your favourite Saturday night record?

The Saturday Night Fever soundtrack LP! Doesn’t get any more Saturday Night than that…. I jest. However, ‘Open Sesame’ by Kool & the Gang is a monster dancefloor tune that will have me bopping about even when all the synths have run out of batteries. “Groove with the Genie!!”

And your Sunday morning record?

Toumani Diabate – The Mande Variations. Incredible rhythms and melody, no overdubs or any shit like that. It suits my chill time well because it is beautiful and relaxing and can easily fit into the ambience, but it is also so full of details I can zoom my ears right into it and be amazed too.

You can – and should – find Richie’s music here.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

