Speakers Push Air


All Back To My Place #2: Rob Davis
April 11, 2010, 10:27 am
Filed under: All Back To My Place

Old friend, psychedelic soulboy, a man who’s great at drawing pictures but rubbish at requesting B*witched videos in Dutch hotel rooms, I give you Rob Davis..

What music are you currently grooving to?

Invisible Girl by King Khan & the BBQ Show. A mate sent the album to me, it’s a kind of vulgar Indian/German doowop thing. Fun.

What, if push comes to shove, is your all-time favourite album?

Forever Changes by Love. It’s the either/and/both/or answer to popular music. It’s misguided and visionary, soulful and artful. It’s like a horror movie serenading a spaghetti western. Every time I put on the second side the record says, “What is happening and how have you been?” as if it’s been waiting for me to come back. And I always do.

What was the first record you ever bought? And where did you buy it?

I remember buying Club Country by the Associates with ‘my own money’ (99p I think). It was in upstairs in TESCO Poole and I bought it on the advice of Sean. Well, he said, “That’s good, get that”. It’s still good in a shrieky paranoiac disco bop way.

Which musician, other than yourself, have you ever wanted to be?

No interest in being any musician really. I would like to have driven around in the Monkees car though.

What do you sing in the shower?

My Ship is Coming In by the Walker Brothers – the ultimate “everything’s gonna be alright, honest luv” loser Dad song. Sing it to yer wife as she throws the flowers back in your sorry drunken face. Or sing it in the shower and give yourself goose-pimples

What is your favourite Saturday night record?

No idea, so I’ll say Out on the Floor by Dobie Gray. That piano bit makes you feel like this is the most important moment ever each time you hear it.

And your Sunday morning record?

I was gonna say Hey Cowboy by Lee Hazlewood from the Cowboy in Sweden album, but the other day I listened to Sweet Thing by Van Morrison on a Sunday morning and that’s a whole other Sunday country. That whole Astral Weeks thing… it just slips in the garden gate and rings the bell.

Take a look at some of Rob’s words and pictures here.

Thanks, Rob.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

