Speakers Push Air


The 2009 Top 20 Albums Of The Year #11
December 20, 2009, 2:39 pm
Filed under: 2009 Top 20

There’s precious little NME-sanctioned music in my life these days – fuck me, it’s a barren world, the world of landfill indie. But, like Los Campesinos! last year, the odd band make it through to me and very often it’s a pleasant surprise.

Number 11: Wild Beasts – Two Dancers

The new sound of young Kendal, Wild Beasts really irritated me when I first heard them – they sounded mannered, derivative and dull  (the fatuous Sparks comparisons put me off too, but it’s not their fault that to idiot music hacks, having a falsetto automatically makes you neu-Mael). I’ve no idea if they’ve got better or I’ve got dumber, but this album has really got under my skin.

It pains me to admit that it was actually a Later.. With Igor appearance that did it – they just really made sense. This track is the best, all haunting and delicate yet intense (it reminds of PJ Harvey’s The Garden, as anyone who downloaded my Oxycomedown mix will see). But the album is consistently good and well worth putting aside any anti-indie-schmindie prejudices for.

Wild Beasts – We Still Got The Taste Dancing On Our Tongues
(Two Dancers, Domino Recordings)


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

