Speakers Push Air


Things To Do For Boys
November 26, 2009, 4:47 pm
Filed under: Miscellaneous

This post is brought to you by three separate events or thoughts:

1.) For a while now, I’d been thinking about a series of posts related to bands who’ve been friends of mine, that have been excellent and either failed to get anywhere or not even tried. One of those bands was to be Things To Do For Boys, a band from Brighton in the late 90s /early 00s (roughly) with whom I’d been friends.

2.) Last week, Ailsa and I were driving up to Barter Books in Alnwick, through the beautiful autumnal Northumbrian countryside, in a borrowed car. I’d also borrowed a bunch of CDs I’d made for Ailsa’s sister, not having any with me of my own. One of these suddenly threw up Sauce Covered Johnson, one of two tracks I’ve got by the aforementioned Things To Do For Boys. Playing it led me to bend Ailsa’s ear about what a great band they were, and what a great bunch of people, especially the singer Mike, a friend from some years back who for various reasons I’d totally lost touch with. This reminiscing made me resolve to both post some Things To Do For Boys tunes and to contact Mike somehow.

3.) On Sunday a message on Facebook arrived from one of my best friends, telling me that Mike had died, suddenly and tragically, on the very day I’d played the tune and made a resolution to contact him. The momentary shudder this synchronicity caused aside, I was really shaken. A look at various Facebook tribute groups – featuring contributions from literally hundreds of people (mostly ex-pupils) – served as a reminder of what a brilliant, talented, charismatic guy Mike was.

And hopefully these two tracks will demonstrate that he was also a great frontman for a wonderful band. It really is a terrible fucking shame.

Things To Do For Boys – Tales Of The Expected

Things To Do For Boys – Sauce Covered Johnson

R.I.P. Mike – you were a gent.

 


1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I was just talking about them and was lead here. Sad to hear about the singer. I had some great memories of watching them. Nice one for putting their music up

Comment by millington




Leave a Reply

