Speakers Push Air


R.I.P. Cap’n Big Trousers
July 26, 2008, 1:42 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized
Steve With Charlie & Daisy

Steve With Charlie & Daisy

My mate Steve died today. He’d fought a long battle with cancer and finally lost, but not through lack of determination or will or courage. He was a genuinely fantastic human being – we always say that about people who’ve passed, but Steve was different.

He faced his illness with so much dignity and humour and openness and courage, he’ll be a hero of mine forever. If I ever face such a challenge and acquit myself 1/10th as well as he did, I’ll be proud of myself.

Time and distance and families and commitments mean I didn’t see as much of him in the last few years as I would have liked, but whenever I did (usually at Half Man Half Biscuit gigs) it made the evening complete.

My sympathies and my love to his kids Charlie and Daisy and his wife Gabi, and to all of us who’ve lost one of the best friends we’ll ever have.

An absolutely gorgeous bloke. You’d have liked him.

RIP mate.


1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] R.I.P. Cap’n Big Trousers […]

Pingback by Everybody Is A Star « Speakers Push Air




Leave a Reply

