Speakers Push Air


THE SPEAKERS PUSH AIR TOP 20 ALBUMS OF 2007: #2
December 30, 2007, 8:02 pm
Filed under: 2007 Top 20

OK, then. New York hipsters blah blah blah blah. Punk funk blah blah blah. Mark E Smith does disco blah blah blah.

Fuck all that, there’s real heart and soul to LCD Soundsystem. I’d pretty much written them off as a particularly danceable gag, first time round. The singles from the first album were funny and knowing but pretty insubstantial, and the album was the singles and then some other stuff that was like the singles only less so. And I thought that was that. Then I heard North American Scum and while it was a great dance track, it was essentially more ironic hipster wit.

They headlined Electric Picnic festival on the Friday night, and since they didn’t clash with anything (and since we had a couple of pills) we decided to give it a go. We expected a couple of laptops onstage, a lot of cowbells and maybe some pretty visuals. What we got a was a full band experience that seemed to encompass New Order at their very best (in fact, New Order had played what I think was their last show in the exact same slot in 2006), a proper banging rave and all sorts of other euphoric and wonderful stuff. I believe at one point, I did actually have my hands in the air, and I think my girlfriend might have been hugging a stranger.

And the album? It’s a proper album – it’s sequenced the way albums used to be, with no thought for the shuffle-addicted tendencies of most listeners these days. What’s amazing is that while in some ways  Murphy’s influences are even more explicit than on the debut, he’s found new power in these things and lyrically there’s real depth here. Like everyone (probably), it’s All My Friends and Someone Great that really stand out, and it’s the former I’m posting. But as with many of these albums, pretty much anything would have done. So then, All My Friends – the greatest New Order song ever…

LCD Soundsystem – All My Friends
from the album Sound of Silver (DFA Recordings)


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

