Speakers Push Air


THE SPEAKERS PUSH AIR TOP 20 ALBUMS OF 2007: #6
December 28, 2007, 1:08 pm
Filed under: 2007 Top 20

After the last couple of overwritten entries, I almost can’t be bothered to write about this one at all. I’d be surprised if any one album has been so discussed, so analysed and theorised about, and I really can’t add anything much. But, in brief, Untrue is beautiful, haunting, unsettling and utterly unique. It’s not dubstep (more like washed out two-step, I guess) and it’s not the coffee table / Massive Attack album some are accusing it of being. I don’t care who Burial is (or isn’t. For the record, it’s not me). I just want him to keep making music like this.

Of course, if I had any originality I’d have chosen a track other than Etched Headplate to upload. But since most of you probably already have this album – or at least have heard it – I wanted to choose the track most likely to lead the others to check out the rest of the album. And that has to be Etched Headplate. After all these weeks, it doesn’t seem to get any less disturbing and melancholy.

Burial – Etched Headplate
from the album Untrue (Hyperdub)


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

